By Shyam Punnachalil, Mizzou Esports Blog

For many, Esports may be about winning big championships, taking down big teams, or perfecting one’s playstyle, but for finance major Jack Ponder, he enjoys the environment that Mizzou Esports’ Premiere Valorant team has.

Entering his fifth year of college, Ponder recently transferred to Mizzou from Miami University in Ohio back in the fall of 2022. He started playing Valorant competitively in 2020 and quickly became top 200 in North America.

“Esports to me is the connections with the friends you make,” Ponder said. “Everyone who I’ve met through Esports specifically, brought me to where I am today.”

Throughout his time on the Premiere Valorant team, Ponder’s most fun and exciting moments have come from the environment that Esports provides.

“It’s always been hanging out with my teammates, seeing them everyday is the best part about it all,” Ponder said. “They’re all my best friends.”

When he isn’t playing Valorant, Ponder loves to play chess and watch TV shows.

Beyond college, Ponder believes that esports will have given him skills in other facets of life.

“Playing on a team, esports gave me skills in communication, talking to people, and working with others, all skills the workforce requires you to have,” Ponder said.

For his last year, Ponder hopes to leave a lasting legacy for Mizzou Esports, and attend major competitions for Valorant, one of which being the College VALORANT Championship (CVAL)

CVAL is a national competition for Valorant that collegiate teams from all over the United States compete in with large prize pools. Mizzou competed last year, and placed fifth overall in the final bracket.

“I want us to be a top three team in the country, I want to be in Los Angeles for the CVAL Championships,” Ponder said. “I want to win.”